Tracking is an additional service that is not part of the basic subscription. Make sure you have subscribed to Tracking before trying to send messages of this type.
Take SPOT outside and make sure it is well away from any buildings that might block signal to any horizon where the satellites might be at the time.
Turn the unit on, wait 2 seconds, and hold the OK button until the light is no longer solid and begins blinking together with the ON/OFF button. This cycle should last 24 hours or until cancelled. If the light goes off after 20 minutes, then you did not successfully put the unit into tracking mode, but into OK mode instead.
If SPOT has a GPS fix, then it will transmit a message every 10 minutes for 24 hours. To use tracking mode again after a continuous 24 hour period, you will need to reinitiate tracking mode.
Messages can be viewed on the Messages tab of your login account and if you have set up a Shared Page ahead of time, Track messages will be visible there.
Remember there is a 15-minute delay from the time the message appears in your account until it appears on your Shared page.
Since the functions share the same button, if you have initiated an OK cycle, you may not initiate Tracking until the OK cycle is complete, or unless you turn the SPOT off and back on again. The tracking function does not override OK. A good rule of thumb is if the OK light is already blinking then you cannot start something new.
You may cancel tracking by holding the OK button down while you are in a Track cycle. The light will begin flashing RED and then it will go solid indicating it is attempting to send a Track Cancel message. Then, the OK light will cease flashing completely.